Endurance: Mercedes leads Dubai 24h after 1 hour of racing

Adapted from press release

Friday at 2pm local, the field of 89 cars took the start of the 2015 Hankook 24 Hours of Dubai.

The Fach Auto Tech Porsche team of Otto Klohs, Martin Ragginger, Jens Richter and Sven Muller started the race from pole position and led early on, but within the first three hours Mercedes took control hogging the top four positions with the Black Falcon cars first and second.

GT 24 Hours of Dubaï 2015
24 Hours of Dubaï 2015. (Photo: Dubai Autodrome)

The number two car of Abdulaziz Al Faisal, Hubert Haupt, Yelmer Buurman and Oliver Webb leading from the sister Abu Dhabi Racing backed car in the hands of UAE's Khaled Al Qubaisi, Jeroen Bleekemolen, Bernd Schneider and Andreas Simonsen.

In third place was the GT Russia Mercedes with multiple UAE champion Karim Al Azhari sharing the cockpit with Alexey Vasilyev, Marko Asmer, Karim Al Azhari and Kevin Korjus with the SPS Automotive Performance Mercedes in fourth.

UAE based teams and drivers were battling it out a the sharp end of their respective classes, with the Memac Ogilvy Duel Racing SEAT leading the A3T class and the Lap57 Honda slugging it out among the top three in the A2 Class.

No tags for this post.