F1: 7 things to know about the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

For the third time in the circuit's six-year history, Yas Marina hosts the Formula 1 season finale, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

This promises to be a race to remember, with double points on offer (50 for a win, instead of 25) and lots of potential movement in the points' standings.

Here are 7 things to know about this race:

The Yas Marina Circuit was designed by Hermann Tilke and is located on Yas Island — an island on the east coast of Abu Dhabi. The circuit staged its maiden F1 race in 2009.

Racing driver Bruno Senna completed the first official lap of the newly built Yas Marina Circuit in a two-seater Formula 1 car on Thursday September 17, 2009.

Red Bull Racing's Sebastian Vettel won the inaugural race in 2009. He completed the 55 laps of the race in first place ahead of his teammate Mark Webber and Jenson Button of Brawn Grand Prix.

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix became the first Formula 1 race to be floodlit.

More than 60 percent of the lap is spent at full throttle and the stop-start nature of the track pushes up fuel consumption figures. With 12 braking zones each lap, brake wear is also very high.

Safety car likelihood is medium. The safety car has affected two of the five races staged at Yas Marina, most recently in 2012.

The Abu Dhabi Grand will be Mercedes' last race as the engine supplier for team McLaren. Their partnership lasted twenty years and it has produced one Constructors' title (1998), three Drivers' titles (Mika Hakkinen in 1998 and 1999, and Lewis Hamilton in 2008).

No tags for this post.